top of page

VetsBrands OptiVet food


When South Africa gives you lemons (ahem petrol price increases, 15% vat, “Black Friday” that’s basically a normal sale), we try and make lemonade. But more times than most we end up with slush (that’s melted because of this awful heat). But! That isn’t the case with everything.

We were approached by the lovely Estelle from VetsBrands who wanted to offer us a sample of the OptiVets dog food. Our dogs are normally fed kibble (and a lot of sneaky treats) which can end up being very expensive. So I did a bit of research into OptiVets to see what it’s all about.


Firstly, let me just start with the price. High quality bags of dog food (Eukanuba, Royal Canin etc) for large breed adult dogs cost anywhere from R800 upwards. I spend more on dog food each month then I do filling up my car with petrol (and that’s saying something with this price at the moment!). OptiVets dog food costs as little as R500. And yes, before you roll your eyes and say “cheaper price, cheaper quality”, I did do my research and they don’t compromise in quality.

OptiVets Adult Maintenance has numerous key ingredients that benefit your dog, from natural flavouring to a variety of vitamins. And those long words? Well they’re there to protect the immune system (MOS), help with joints (glucosamine) and natural antioxidants (tocopherols). A lot of people might argue and say that because of all of the meat meal and animal fat in the mix (as is found in pretty much all dry food and treats), our dogs are getting an excess amount of calories which can lead to problems later. However, I put it to the test and I really liked the outcomes.


Beanie and Bailey loved the taste, we stuck to the recommended feeding amount for their weights (which is less than we usually feed them, but they didn’t go hungry or pine for more food) and the bag lasted us just under a month. My girls are looking happy, healthy, their coats are silky smooth (#wokeuplikethis) and they’ve lost a bit of weight.

I would definitely recommend OptiVets Dog Food and the VetsBrands range!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

beingbasti

a dog blog

bottom of page